What’s for dinner? Clam Chowder

Standard
What’s for dinner? Clam Chowder

Greetings!  I love to cook and I love to see people enjoying my food.  What I don’t like are recipes that are too difficult with too many steps and too many ingredients.  I love to cook, but I like to have time for other things too!

Last night I made clam chowder.  Some people think of soup as only a fall or winter dish, but I like it all year.  Maybe that’s because my mother used to make vegetable soup in the summer when she had lots of fresh vegetables from Grandpa’s garden.

Anyway, here is my recipe.  Please be patient with the quality of my pictures 🙂  Maybe a new camera is in my future if I continue to blog.  And a photography class on how to style and photograph food.  Right now my iPhone 5 camera will have to do.

You will need:

4 slices of bacon, diced

1 1/2 cups chopped onion

1 1/2 cups water

4 cups potatoes (I used red potatoes and I didn’t peel them.)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

black pepper to taste (I like a lot.)

3 cups half-and-half  (No, this is not a low-cal version.)

3 tablespoons butter (Again, this is not a low-cal version.)

20 ounces of canned minced clams

IMG_0909

Here are my red potatoes, all chopped up.

IMG_0910

I’m ready to sizzle the bacon and onions.

 

Place diced bacon in large stock pot and cook until almost crisp.  Add onions and cook 5 minutes.  (I messed up and put the bacon and onions in together to start, but it was fine.)  Stir in the water and potatoes and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and cook uncovered for 15 minutes or until potatoes are fork tender.  (If the liquid boils down too much, add a little water or some of the clam juice.)

Pour in half-and-half and add butter.  Drain clams but reserve clam liquid.  Stir clams and 1/2 of the clam liquid into the soup.  Cook about 5 minutes or until heated through.  Do not allow to boil.  Enjoy!

IMG_0914

My bacon and potatoes and onion and water are sizzling!

IMG_0916

Here’s the final product. The hubby and son gave it a thumbs up!

Leave a comment