Product Review — Sunscreen

Standard

sunscreen

Today is a beautiful day to be by the pool.  As someone who had a small melanoma lesion removed 16 years ago, I try to take care of my skin by using sunscreen.  It would be safer to avoid the sun altogether, but I enjoy the beach, tennis, and the pool way too much for that.

Last week in the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Clark Howard reported on sunscreens and their rating by Consumer Reports.  I read the article but didn’t pay much attention because after years of using sunscreen, I have a favorite.

I love Hawaiian Tropic Sheer Touch lotion sunscreen.  I use SPF 30.  I like it because it goes on so easily.  After years of trying to rub in other products that go on like glue, I was delighted to find something that goes on smoothly and easily and doesn’t leave that white, pasty look on my skin.  It is non-greasy, oil free, and water resistant for 80 minutes.  It works for me.  I use it on my face and body.

You can find Hawaiian Tropic Sheer Touch at Target and most other places for around $7.99 for an 8 ounce bottle.  I had a coupon at Publix back in the spring and stocked up.

As an aside, I have included below a picture of the three pairs of glasses I have to take with me any time I’m out in the sun.  Ridiculous.  I have to have a regular pair of sunglasses to just look around, a pair of sunglasses/reading glasses for when I’m reading in the sun, and a pair of regular 2.0 reading glasses in case the sun goes behind a cloud.  Getting older is hard work.  I guess I should just be thankful I don’t need contacts or any kind of glasses for vision other than $3.00 reading glasses.

Enjoy this beautiful weekend!  Be sure to use sunscreen and plenty of it 🙂

sunglasses

One response »

Leave a comment