It’s Movie Time!

Standard

mcdonalds set

I’m so excited!  I already knew that Hollywood is in Douglasville for the summer.  The picture above shows the 1950’s era McDonald’s now under construction in downtown Douglasville that will serve as a set for the movie “The Founder” about the life of McDonald’s founder Ray Kroc.  What I didn’t know is that this movie is also being filmed in my hometown of Thomaston, Georgia, at the legendary Piggie Park.  The Upson Post published several photos yesterday with Michael Keaton and other actors filming scenes at the drive-in restaurant.  I don’t think they had to do too much to make Piggie Park look like it’s from the 50’s except bring in some old cars 🙂  Below are some pictures of Piggie Park so you’ll know it when you see the movie.

piggie park

piggie park 3

Other movies that have filmed in Thomaston are “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay” which was shot at the old Martha Mills and “The Walking Dead” which was filmed at Sprewell Bluff, both in 2013.  Coincidentally, a scene from “Mockingjay” was also filmed at Sweetwater State Park in Douglas County, and the opening scene from “The Walking Dead” with the tanker truck accident was filmed in Fulton County right across the line from Douglas County near our home.  Kirk and I were driving back from Thomaston on a late Sunday afternoon when we came to the intersection of Hwy 92 and Campbellton-Fairburn Road and saw a dreadful accident and policemen just milling around like nothing had happened.  We figured out pretty quickly that a movie scene was being filmed, but it was a couple of years later when we realized that was the opening scene for the “Walking Dead” series.

I read that one of the reasons Douglasville was chosen for “The Founder” was because of our Old Douglas County Courthouse which features 1950’s era architecture.  See below for a picture of the Old Douglas County Courthouse so you’ll recognize it in the movie.  I’ve also included a picture of the ruins of the New Manchester Mill at Sweetwater State Park where a scene from “Mockingjay” was filmed.

I always enjoy seeing a movie that is filmed in a familiar location, so I can’t wait to see “The Founder.”  I’ll get to see scenes from my hometown and my new adopted hometown!  And you’ll know a little more about the locations, too!

dc old courthouse

sweetwater park

Leave a comment